USD 237 Board of Education Regular Meeting Board Minutes for Monday, November 11, 2024 216 S. Jefferson St, Smith Center, KS 66967 Smith Center Board of Education Meeting Room

Item 1. Call to Order

President Theron Haresnape called the meeting to order.

7:00 PM

Present for the call to order were Board Members Marty Hanson, Jodi Frydendall, Adam Rentschler, Libby McDonald, Sara Pruden and Steve Overmiller, Superintendent Dustin McEwen, Board Clerk Susan Panter, and Principals Greg Koelsch and Michelle Stamm, teachers Monica Wagner, Amy Terrill and Miranda Attwood, students Ruby Gomel-Osthoff, Kaylee Weltmer and Gavin Hughes.

Item 2. Approval of Agenda - Add/Delete

Adam Rentschler made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Libby McDonald seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

Item 3. Approval of Consensus Items

- a. October 14, 2024 Regular Board Meeting Minutes
- b. November 11, 2024 Statements
- c. Approval of Donations

Steve Overmiller made a motion to approve the Consensus Items. Adam Rentschler seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

Item 4. Public Forum

None

Item 5. FFA Highlights from NationalsTrip

Monica Wagner, Ruby Gomel-Osthoff and Kaylee Weltmer gave a slide show presentation of their trip to the FFA National Convention. Kaylee Weltmer placed 7th for her presentation. They thanked the Board for allowing them to go on the trip.

Monica Wagner, Ruby Gomel-Osthoff and Kaylee Weltmer left the meeting at 7:08 PM.

Item 6. Presentation FCCLA Star Event

Gavin Hughes gave a presentation on seizure awareness. There are three components of the Seizure Safe Schools that he would like to see in the staff handbook. They are: (1) requiring school personnel to complete a seizure recognition and first aid response training, (2) mandating a seizure action plan is made part of the student's file and made available for school personnel and volunteers, (3) Having one designated employee to administer seizure treatment medications and seizure rescue medications. Mr. McEwen stated he would talk to Hayley Moll about training that the district provides for staff on seizure awareness.

Amy Terrill and Gavin Hughes left the meeting at 7:20 PM.

Item 7. KESA Action Plan

Miranda Attwood presented the KESA action plan for the district. The action plan includes 3 components: compliance, school improvement and outcomes. Miranda went over the Kansas School Improvement Model and asked the board members to complete the KESA Survey. The district is currently in the planning stages of a new math curriculum and will submit the action plan on December 9, 2024.

Miranda Attwood left the meeting at 7:32 PM.

Item 8. Approval for Temporary Custodial Help Over Christmas Break

Adam Rentschler made a motion to approve Dylan Teselle for temporary custodial help over the Christmas break at \$10.00 per hour. Sara Pruden seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

Item 9. Approval of Contract for Food Service Employee

Steve Overmiller made a motion to approve the Food Service Contract for Megan Ord. Jodi Frydendall seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

Item 10. Discussion and Approval to Change Time for December 9th Board Meeting Due to Christmas Program

Adam Rentschler made a motion to change the December 9th board meeting time to 5:00 p.m. due to the Christmas program. Steve Overmiller seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

Item 11. Approval to Start Search for Architect or Contractor for Roofing Project

Mr. McEwen reviewed the plans for new roofing at the grade school and high school. He would like to seek the expertise of an architect to oversee the project.

Libby McDonald made a motion to approve the use of an architect for the roofing project. Adam Rentschler seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

Item 12. Perkins Consortium

Mr. McEwen discussed the Perkins Consortium. Due to lack of sponsorship, he recommended giving up the allocation for the Perkins Consortium for this year.

Item 13. Appointment of 2025-2026 Board of Education Negotiating Team Members

Steve Overmiller made a motion to appoint Marty Hanson and Theron Haresnape as the 2025-2026 Board of Education Negotiating Team Members. Sara Pruden seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

Item 14. Reports

- a. Libby McDonald, NCKSEC Interlocal #636 Report
 - Windows are in at the new building
 - Car was sold that had hail damage
- b. Greg Koelsch, Principal's Report
 - School play the play was a success
 - Thursday, November 14th, Kelli Armknecht is taking students to Ft. Hays State University for math relays
 - Grant money from an estate teachers can apply for equipment that is needed
- c. Michelle Stamm, Principal's Report
 - Nothing to add

- d. Dustin McEwen, Superintendent's Report
 - Inservice on Nov. 11 Staff participated well with the speaker in the a.m./KESA p.m.
 - New Financial Software
 - Facilities smell in the grade school gym was due to urinals leaking
 - Looking for pickup for A.J.
 - KASB Energy Management Program
 - Mapes and Miller Audit week of November 18th
 - Bus routes
 - KASB Conference
 - Dustin and Susan attending KMAAG Conference November 14th
 - Financials
 - Cross Country Congratulations on their performances at State

Item 15. Board Comments

Item 16. Adjourn

Libby McDonald made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Adam Rentschler seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a 7-0 vote.

8:22 PM

....."it shall be my constant endeavor to devote time, thought and study to the duties and responsibilities of a school board member so that I may render effective and credible service....."

School Board Member Code of Ethics

Theron Haresnape, President	Susan Panter, Clerk

USD #237 Smith Center does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, national origin, handicap, or age in admission or access to, or treatment or employment in its programs or activities. Any questions regarding the compliance with

treatment or employment in, its programs or activities. Any questions regarding the compliance with Title VI, Title IX, or Section 504 may be

directed to Mr. Dustin McEwen, Title IX Coordinator, who can be reached at (785)-282-6665, 216 South Jefferson, Smith Center, Kansas 66967